I still read…. Sometimes.

12 09 2013

It’s no surprise that since moving to Efate Island my reading list has gotten a bit smaller. I’m still plowing through books faster than I ever did post-corps, but definitely not reading 6 a month like I did on Maewo.

Am I busier? A bit. Is there more distractions? Definitely.

Nevertheless, my love of books and reading remains, and I will challenge myself to keep up this nice habit when I return to the fast-paced, Netflixified U.S. of A. Perhaps I’ll even buy myself a nice eReader like all those tech-forward folks have.

Books I’ve read since coming to Efate Island (the past 9ish months):

Fifty Shades Darker- EL James

**Life of Pi- Yann Martel

Keeping Faith- Jodi Picoult

*Another Roadside Attraction- Tom Robbins

Seriously….i’m Kidding- Ellen Degeneres

**Interpreter of Maladies (short stories)- Jhumpa Lahiri

*Prodigal Summer- Barbara Kingsolver

*Harry Potter 1, Philosopher’s Stone- J.K. Rowling (Our school library has all 7 Potter books. I’ve never read them, and haven’t seen the last 3 movies either so I thought, “why not?”

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

*Brain on Fire- My Month of Madness- Susanne Cahalan

Harry Potter and Order of Pheonix

**Born to Run- Christopher McDougall (I started running 2-3 times a week since reading this book)

*Medium Raw- Anthony Bourdain

*Heart of the Sea-True story of the Whaleship Essex- Nathaniel Philbrick

Pigs in Heaven- Barbara Kingsolver

**Harry Potter- Half Blood Prince

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows

*The Bookseller of Kabul- Asne Seirstad

*Mountains Beyond Mountains- The Quest of Dr. Paul Farmer, A Man Who would cure the world- Tracy Kidder

And book #173 since coming to Vanuatu: **Game of Thrones- Book 1- George R.R. Martin

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

